Few buildings in Ireland can boast a longer history of continuous occupation than Kilkenny Castle. Founded soon after the Norman conquest of Ireland, the Castle has been rebuilt, extended and adapted to suit changing circumstances and uses over a period of 800 years. Today, Kilkenny Castle is open to visitors all year round and is largely a Victorian remodeling of the thirteenth century defensive Castle. Each year, hundreds of thousands of visitors come to see this grand country house and walk through its fifty acres of rolling parkland. For more, click here.
Castlecomer Discovery Park
Set in the former grounds of the Wandesforde Estate, Castlecomer Discovery Park comprises of 80 acres of stunning natural woodland and lakes. It began as a community project to rejuvenate the town of Castlecomer following the closure of the coal mines in 1969. This relatively ‘young’ park opened to the public in 2007 with the launch of the Coal Mining Exhibition, Visitor Centre and Design Craft. For more, click here.
Goatsbridge Trout Farm
The Story of Goatsbridge begins over 800 years ago back in 1180, when the Monks of Jerpoint Abbey near Thomastown, Co Kilkenny fished in the fast flowing waters of The Little Arrigle River in the heart of The Nore Valley. In 1961 this river gave life to the creation of our first fish ponds; running through our lands it now forms the heart of one of Irelands best known trout farms. For more information, click here.